Skip to content

It’s my birthday and I’ll cry if I want to!

November 4, 2013

This weekend it was my 33rd birthday and for some reason I just didn’t get around to talking to anyone about it, nor did I plan any special celebration. In retrospect, that was stupid of me. If I can’t be egotistical on my birthday, when can I be?

After the last month or two of feeling pretty damn low, it would have felt good to be celebrated. As it was, I made my own cake on Friday, went to a Halloween party on Saturday morning, ate a slice of said cake on the afternoon with present-opening. Sadly, my birthday post from England didn’t arrive on time, even though it was sent well in advance so not one birthday card arrived in my mailbox *sadface*.

I didn’t think 33 was that old but the fact that I received some very nice serviettes and lovely red tablemats from my pretty-much-mother-in-law sealed the deal as far as feeling old goes. At least the day was saved by my man with a delicious Chinese meal, sneaky glass of wine and a box of snazzy chocolates on my pillow. What meant even more was his promise to do something that I’ve wished for for a very long time.

Of course, many people wrote on my ‘wall’ but it’s definitely struck home with me that Facebook is not enough for reminding me about birthdays. I need preparation time. I want to make my good friends feel special on their birthdays- to send a birthday card, for example or to actually have something planned that will make them feel important. Because they are worth the trouble and I want to be worth the trouble on my birthday as well.

Yes, this is a whinge but it’s my birthday and I’ll whine if I want to. Let me have this one please. It’s only once a year…

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 5, 2013 00:15

    Guilt. I am probably the lousiest person in the world at remembering birthdays, in fact I can safely say that I can only remember a handful of birthdays, my immediate family’s. I was 40 recently and couldn’t get my act together to do anything until the last minute, some fabulous friends came at remarkably short notice but you know what, I hadn’t even gone to a special effort because it was my birthday and I didn’t feel like it and it was my birthday after all. But my friends deserve better than that too. I read something the other day that struck a chord.

    Take Time for your Friends or Time will take your Friends.

    But ultimately, perhaps we are being a little hard on ourselves, we run a business, manage a family, humour our husbands, fetch our kids, I don’t know about you, but I often don’t have time for me, yet alone anyone else.

Leave a Reply

