Skip to content

Witnesses

September 8, 2013

Yesterday, Philipp and I made the epic journey to Neukölln, where I lived for almost three years in my pre-child years. Swinging by Hermannstrasse to pick up some friends, we came upon a pretty awful sight: Someone had been hurt (potentially mortally) and was lying on the road, surrounded by paramedics, police and firepeople but worst of all a huge crowd of onlookers, shamelessly gawking at the situaton. Seriously! Jostling, pushing, rubbernecking and trying to get a good view of what was going on. Sickening! In the end, the emergency services had to hold up a screen to stop the onlookers from staring at ‘the show’.

I overheard someone say that a child had run into the road after someone and was hit by a car. I really hope he or she was ok. It really upset me to witness the audacity of some people!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2013 10:20

    Yeah, I am sure there is more of that here than in the UK, but I have been gone too long to know. I had friends here once and the son, father and mother all went out to gawp at a helicopter landing outside our house. I asked them to come in, they asked me why? Why – because it might be one of my neighbours and the situation is probably bad enough as it is and that I really don’t think any of us can help. They shrugged it off saying that their son just loved the emergency services, what harm can it do and didn’t come back in.

    I was lost for words, the selfishness of it I found astounding.

Trackbacks

  1. Ch-ch-ch-ch-ch-ch-Changes | Cup of tea anyone?

Leave a Reply

