Skip to content

Knocked up

August 10, 2013

Written on 1st July 2013

It’s funny to think that this post will be published retrospectively. I wonder whether any of this will be relevant when the time comes?

The week before last, we had the shocking revelation that, after not really trying so hard to get pregnant, we are in fact… pregnant! It seemed to take so long last time that we were expecting it to be no different second time around. We were a bit naive.

Everything I was feeling for around a week pointed to the fact that I was very likely up-the-duff and so a test was bought, 2 lines appeared, the test was checked and double-checked (and triple-checked) and a gynaecologist appointment made, which served to confirm the reliability of cheap-o pregnancy tests (at least we didn’t have to do 3 this time round!)

It’s so hard not to shout the good news to the world, yet I’m so afraid that my luck will run out so I’m trying to keep things on the low until the 12 week mark arrives. ย Also for work purposes: I don’t wish to announce my inevitable exit into parental exile just yet!

The need for communication and exchange on the subject is much stronger this time round, however. I know what’s going to happen to me, what I should and shouldn’t eat, drink and do and I’m pretty confident in what I want from this pregnancy. However, I’m shitting myself at the thought of having not one but TWO children, natural birth, changing nappies for another 3 years, sleepless nights with 2 kids, sibling rivalry, robbing my existing child of the monopoly of our attention, flying with 2 children, not being able to afford stuff… the very long list goes on.

I sincerely hope that by the time I publish this post, some of those fears have dissipated. Readers of the future, if you have any advice, don’t be shy!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2013 21:39

    Oh, congratulations! Don’t worry, it’s gonna be great with two kids ๐Ÿ™‚ Tough, but great ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Mama-L permalink
      August 11, 2013 08:00

      Thanks! It’s scary but anything is manageable I guess. Human Beings are very resourceful animals ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Saskia permalink
    August 10, 2013 22:07

    Alles wird gut und noch besser! Gerade weil Du weiรŸt, was auf Dich zukommt, wirst Du auch viel gelassener sein und Dich nicht mehr so leicht stressen lassen ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Mama-L permalink
      August 11, 2013 08:01

      Danke! Zumindest muss ich das nicht alles in einer komplett neuen Umgebung machen, wie ihr! Hoff es geht euch gut! LG

  3. August 11, 2013 10:09

    Congratulations. Don’t sweat the small stuff, you manage as there is no alternative and you don’t really even notice to be honest.

  4. August 11, 2013 10:39

    As you know, I am super excited that you’ll be joining the ‘mum of 2’ group next year ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve flown with 2 kids solo 4 times now, it’s perfectly doable, putting 2 to bed, doable, in fact it is all doable. You’ll do great and you have a strong network of friends around you who’ve done it and are happy to help xx

    • Mama-L permalink
      August 14, 2013 19:15

      Aww thanks for the support. I know that anything’s possible but obviously I’m approaching the whole thing with some trepidation ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. August 12, 2013 21:30

    Congrats & well done on waiting it out before telling the (internet) world!

    • Mama-L permalink
      August 14, 2013 19:15

      Thanks! It was hard but I made it! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. christianeerspamer permalink
    August 14, 2013 15:44

    Hallo!
    I got your website from ExpatBabies Berlin and just read your latest blog. So happy for you! What a blessing ๐Ÿ™‚
    My kids and I are preparing to move back to Berlin (home town) from living in the USA. Hoping to make connections and recover help and tips for the move. My kids are 10 and 12.
    X, Kiki (Christiane)

    • Mama-L permalink
      August 14, 2013 19:14

      Thanks Kiki! Hope the move goes well. There are loads of things going on through which you can meet other parents so you shouldn’t be short of a network pretty soon! All the best x

Leave a Reply

