Skip to content

The Parenting Iceberg

April 22, 2013

As I was putting my son to bed this evening, I got to thinking about how much we as parents resemble icebergs. (Stay with me here)…

At the tip of the iceberg are the things we’re smug about proud of/contented with: The things we’re not worried about showing to the rest of the world. Maybe there are small niggles there too: Those worries we’re not afraid to communicate to others; the ‘normal stuff’ that everyone goes through…

Beneath the surface, however, there’s a sh*tload of other-crap-we’re-not-going-to-talk-about-because-we-might-be-admitting-failure-as-a-parent. I ask myself quite frequently what others are experiencing in certain situations but I’m often too afraid to ask my fellow parents directly, for fear of them making me feel like an inferior raiser of small Humans.

Well sod it! Here are my admissions. I’m chopping that bitch of an iceberg into small pieces and serving frozen margaritas. Join me and share. It may be therapeutic…

1. We still hold our son’s hand until he falls asleep (and he’s almost 3)

2. We mostly let our son sleep in our bed if he crawls in there at night

3. We co-slept until he was almost 2 (I said I would never co-sleep- there’s a revelation for you)

4. This evening, I fed him pasta with tomato ketchup (the kids’ one that’s supposed to be lower in sugar than the usual- that made me feel better)

5. He mostly drinks juice (with a splash of water, which gives me a small sense of virtue)

6. He eats sweets and chocolate. Often.

7. His favourite foods are jelly sweets and chips

8. He watches a lot of TV. Sometimes I even put the TV on whilst I Get Stuff Done™

9. Sometimes I put him in slightly dirty clothes to save on washing…..

So there you go. Nobody’s perfect but we’re all doing our best. Let’s not be too hard on oneanother.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2013 22:20

    I still lay down with my almost four-year-old while she falls asleep.
    She is currently laying down in her room watching My Little Ponies on the Kindle for no other reason than that we both needed some space.
    There are days that I will feed her anything she will eat.
    I’ve let her eat ice cream nude, because I couldn’t face one more dirty shirt/pants.

    • Mama-L permalink
      April 24, 2013 21:36

      This is absolutely us! 🙂

  2. April 22, 2013 22:47

    Ha ha. A true parent!

  3. April 22, 2013 22:50

    9 extended. I make piles of kids’ not so very dirty clothes to be worn the-day-after-tomorrow to save on washing.

    • Mama-L permalink
      April 24, 2013 21:37

      Haha, yeah- so do we and I sometimes get a bit worried that the Kita will complain that I’m dressing my kid in ‘slightly dirty’ clothes!

  4. Angela permalink
    April 22, 2013 23:05

    I actually found the first three really endearing parental qualities…I think its very sweet that you still hold his hand, and that you co sleep. I was proud to admit I co-slept with Kai until he was older than three, so I guess it is about perspective.

    • Mama-L permalink
      April 23, 2013 07:58

      Less about perspective and more about cultural and societal expectations 😉

Leave a Reply

