Skip to content

Facebook Fast (and Detox): The Results

April 21, 2013

So, one week ago, I made a decision not to log into facebook for a week. I turned off new post/ message notifications to my phone and that was that- bye-bye facebook!

So how did life without facebook actually feel?

– I was nervous about missing messages or important events. I didn’t.
Learning: I have a phone number and whatsapp. If people need me, they can get in touch.

– I was a little disturbed about missing important events. I didn’t hear about the Boston bombings until 2 days after the event.
Learning: Open your effing BBC/Guardian app woman!

– There were a few moments where I thought, “This would make an awesome status update”. I got over it.
Learning: Enjoy moments. Your brain can immortalise those better than facebook ever can. Also, why should anyone else give a crap that your kid got through 2 weeks of potty training without any accidents?

Towards the end of the week I got ill. Nothing to do with the side-effects of my digital-detox but because of a virus I caught from my son. That was hard- 2 days at home with no facebook! But I got so much more done: Wrote emails to old friends and letters I’d been meaning to write for ages to various people/organisations and of course I worked a lot (as you do).

Around the same time as I was feeling ill, H picked up the book from the bookstore. I read it from cover to cover in about a day. Not recommended for those of a sensitive disposition, nor those with sensitive eyes (it’s frickin BRIGHT!), it really hammered home what I was trying to do this last week.

What I took from the book:

  • Facebook is not a bad thing but it’s a time-killer. If you want more time, you need to turn the tables-  make facebook work for you, not the other way round.
  • Turn off all facebook notifications.
  • Do not be tempted to publicise the life of your loved ones, pets or children. It’s not cool.
  • If you wouldn’t want to be in a room with that person, why share the intimacies of your life with them? Delete these people from your facebook friends! (Or at least use the list function and restrict what they can see)
  • Familiarise yourself with the off-button on your (Smart)phone, enjoy some offline time. People can wait. The world won’t end.
  • Get your privacy act together. If there’s shit in the internet that you wouldn’t want a prospective employer to see, get it sorted, pronto!
  • Make rules for yourself in terms of social media usage and stick to them.

On my return to facebook, I left a lot of useless groups and unfriended a lot of people I wasn’t especially fussed about. That felt good and now I just need to work on my new ‘facebook usage rules’ going forward. Stay tuned for the madness! 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 22, 2013 22:41

    Good on you for detoxing. As someone comming for the opposite direction, i.e. I never did much on FB until very recently and am now spending increasing amounts of (limited) time checking and liking I will keep your advice in mind at all times!

Leave a Reply

