Skip to content

International Women’s Day

March 8, 2013

It’s international women’s day again, would you believe! Last year, I talked about how we often take for granted how far we’ve come, compared to many other countries in the world. This year, I’d like to get all gushy about inspiring women:

1. My Mam

I learned so much about life from my Mam. She worked for most of my life, as well as running the house and the family finances yet she ALWAYS had time to do her bit for the community. Even now that she is no longer employed, she’s still working away, dealing with family members’ mental illness, long-term ill health and her own ailments as well as continuing to make a pretty spectacular contribution to the community. I am SO PROUD of her and hope I can be as strong and dedicated as she is. Love you, Mam!

2. A good friend

I won’t embarass her by naming names but my friend is a real inspiration: Intelligent, stylish and classy with a humour as dry as the Sahara- this woman is really something. To me, she’s someone who always stays true to herself and no matter what she achieves, remains down to Earth. She’s my role model, especially in her professional life and generally she’s awesome to hang out with.

3. A mum friend

My mum friend is extremely industrious. She is raising TWO children alone, whilst living in a foreign country and she’s running several business ventures. She’s also really well connected and cool. To me, this woman is an inspiration in her tenacity and ability to get things done, despite having a whole load of shit thrown at her from all directions.

I’m lucky to know so many inspiring women. Happy International Women’s Day!

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 8, 2013 20:41

    Aw thank you! This made me well-up! You have so many good things ahead of you I know it!

Leave a Reply

