Skip to content

The Pursuit of Happiness and the Seven Year Itch

February 25, 2013

I’ve not written in an age, on account of the fact that for a while there I just couldn’t put finger to keyboard without wanting to rant.

Thankfully, my ranting impulse has been replaced by a less harmful moan so it’s all good in the ‘hood.

2013 and the dawn of my seventh year in Berlin has seen a LOT of energy in what I hope is the right direction. I’ve met some really interesting and inspiring people and have eaten some serious frogs (don’t worry, no animals were harmed, I promise). The odd time, I’ve also even believed the praise and compliments that people have given me. You can’t say all that therapy’s not helped then!

Last week there was a little holiday to the other side of Germany to visit P’s Oma (Grandma) and despite major TV withdrawal and a severe lack of PROPER BRITISH TEA, I returned to Berlin on Friday with a spring in my step and a glint in my eye (or that was the allergy flare-up, caused by the immense amount of dust in the MIL’s apartment).

I also returned with a bunch of topics I’d like to write on in the coming weeks, including:

Parenting and working: Finding a life balance that suits everyone
Single parenthood from a non-single parent’s perspective
As an expat, should I speak the language of my adopted country?
Language and culture and bilingualism

So check back shortly. There may be something of interest here (at last!)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

