Skip to content

Do you like me? PLEASE LIKE ME!!

February 5, 2013

Today I read this article. It may have changed me irreversibly. If you can’t be arsed to read it, it effectively says that we women need to stop trying to be likeable and just BE.

In particular, this paragraph spoke to me:

Wanting to be liked means being a supporting character in your own life, using the cues of the actors around you to determine your next line rather than your own script. It means that your self-worth will always be tied to what someone else thinks about you, forever out of your control.

The difficulty is that I feel that my impulse to be liked is so strong that I’m not sure I could do things differently. As a Project Manager, I’ve always taken it hard when a customer or colleague is dissatisfied with a situation, I sometimes do things for little else than to be likeable and the thought that someone might not like me bothers me deeply.

Where this all originated I don’t know but I do know that it’s not healthy for my soul. So wish me luck with my new quest: Being myself and giving less of a sh*t about being liked!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

