Skip to content

1 Down, 1.4 to go!

September 21, 2012

I am starting to get broody again. It’s not like I wasn’t broody before, I simply avoided situations in which I might be caught cooing at the thought of a small addition to our 3-person love-in.

Then I met M, son of my friend B and my heart did a little skip at that new baby smell, the little gummy mouth turning into a smile as he fell asleep on my shoulder (wind, I am sure but nevertheless…) and then it hit me that practically ALL of my friends with children either have 2 already or are pregnant with their second. Pressure, much?

It’s funny isn’t it: Not long ago, in the midst of an all-out toddler-tantrum (Philipp’s, as opposed to mine), I said to myself that one is enough. There’s also the whole schooling thing- bilingual school means money and you can’t send one child to private school and another to state school, unless you’re making some sort of real-life social experiment and you probably need a PhD for that.

And there’s relationship stuff and shift-work-related crap that I don’t especially want to talk about here plus money. Did I mention money? Oh, and my biological clock is ticking.

I wonder on what basis grown-ups decide to give the gift of a sibling to their existing child/ren?

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sooz permalink
    September 21, 2012 14:59

    We had always planned on two. When E was 10 months old we realised that there was no time in the next 5 years when it would be any easier in terms of work, finances and childcare than it was right then so decided we may as well get on with it!

  2. September 21, 2012 16:17

    Even your single friend has managed to get pregnant with another 😉 HAVE ONE AND JOIN US MWAH HA HA HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!

  3. September 25, 2012 10:03

    I think going from one child to two children is a seismic shift, probably comparable to going from no children to 3-member family. It is normal to ask yourself all these questions, and as Sooz says, there is no perfect timing. Things usually slot into place whatever you decide, good luck!

Leave a Reply

