Skip to content

The Co-sleeping Rant

July 3, 2012

I’ve given myself 15 minutes to write this post because I really need to get more sleep this week, since little P’s nursery is closed so I’m back to stay-at-home-mum for one week only (any more than that, my mind may implode).

I haven’t yet ranted about co-sleeping and a comment on facebook got me all agitated so I thought “why not?” ….

As a pregnant, you envision all the virtuous things you’ll do as a parent. Since the fruit of your uterus has not yet popped out, personality and all, you imagine yourself like those ladies on TV ads, hanging beautiful clean washing on the line, coo-ing baby on the arm, not a dark circle or grey hair in sight… Well imagine away girlfriend because reality is a whole different ballgame. Even the washing powder with the biggest marketing budget ain’t gonna budge (haha) those puke/poo/pee stains and you’re gonna need to invest in a TOUCHE ÉCLAT if you don’t want to look like the walking dead. But where were we..? Oh yes, co-sleeping…

Philipp, like his father, was a SNACKER and I was effectively his snack so when hunger struck, the boob was produced and Heaven rejoiced and angels sang. Except they didn’t. It was stressful and I was sooooo tired. During my pregnancy, in my imaginary world where babies sleep through the night and pigs fly, I said,  “No, no, no, I will not co-sleep. I have heard in the media that it’s dangerous and I could suffocate the baby. Anyone doing that is a total hippy and has no grasp of reality.” Boy did I eat my words!

For 16 months, co-sleepimg kept me from a) going insane and b) murdering my partner. I was able to roll over and feed then roll back over and sleep without opening my eyes. Philipp also only stirred a little to get my attention and hey, presto- mothership locked on, all systems sleep. It wasn’t a piece of cake, for example, during the time baby was waking every 1.5 hours, my nipples became super sore and I got all grouchy. Our sheets got milk-stains and I also lost my previous bed partner (who is still to return, incidentally) but my main message here is IT WORKED FOR US.

If you need convincing, read some Sears

If you want to not get up in the night but don’t want to go against the Health Visitors recommendation to never share a bed with your baby, get one of these. Or one of these

Sweet dreams, folks!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 5, 2012 09:18

    I co-slept with both of mine. And I liked it! Even after they stopped feeding I still did it. They also fart less in bed than these horrid men-things that get you pregnant in the first place 🙂

Leave a Reply

