Skip to content

Bully

March 29, 2012

My friend at workingberlinmum recently posted about the new ‘Bully’ documentary and project that are (hopefully) taking the USA by storm.

Watching the trailer, I couldn’t help shed a tear or 10. The thought of losing a child to suicide as a result of bullying is like a knife through the chest and my heart broke at the little boy who was going through Hell every day of his school life.

I too was bullied at school, mostly for not being the typical slim build that was the norm in the ’80’s. I was NEVER slim but I was always tall and rather cumbersome. Occasionally, I wished I could just shrink to normal size and melt into the crowd, that I could do a handstand or cartwheel, that I wasn’t such a swot or that I wouldn’t be the last to be picked in sport.

Later into my teens, I became suicidal after being bullied by an ex boyfriend and his new love interest. Fear saved my life then but the trauma was so great that I sought counselling when I eventually escaped to Uni, 240 miles away.

My bullying experience is imcomparable with the things that go on in this digital age: Facebook, Twitter, SMS, Youtube, blogs, chat… The bullying doesn’t stop at the school gate any longer and young people are plagued even in their own homes by cruel taunts and jibes that can shatter their only-just-developing self confidence. Many children actually do commit suicide.

I don’t even know where to begin with educating my son to overcome this major ‘fact of life’ when the time comes. I suppose ensuring that he knows he can tell me everything, showing him ways to combat bullying without violence and helping him to develop a strong sense of self and self confidence are the first steps but if anyone has the magic formula, please do divulge…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

