Skip to content

The Psychology of Fat

October 20, 2011

Children are like big sponges, absorbing everything around them and randomly regurgitating stuff you never thought possible. Or like mirror images of psyche with other bits thrown in, which is an immensely scary prospect! Even more scary because of my own psychological hangups.

One of those hangups has to do with food. Look, I have never in my life been considered as ‘thin’. I’ve been proportional to very overweight. At the moment, I’m the lightest I’ve been in a good while. However, now that I’m about to stop using up my extra calories making milk, thoughts of the dreaded DIET are starting to creep in.

Yo-yo dieting has been part of my life for so long that I don’t think I know what  ‘normal’ eating entails. Just the thought of dieting makes me hit the bakery section. HARD. “Must..store…calories”, says my body, having heard through the grapevine of my nervous system that my brain is thinking about putting it on a diet. *Sigh*

This is, to me, the psychology of fat.

So how do thin people think that makes them not fat? That must be the key to weightloss, the thing that the diet books are missing, surely? Thin people maybe don’t obsess about food as much because they know that cookie isn’t going to stick around in that spot left of their bellybutton, causing an unsightly overspill when they wear those jeans so they just eat it and enjoy it and don’t feel guilty afterwards. One cookie, no guilt. Instead of 1 cookie, guilt, another cookie to compensate for the guilt and then the whole pack because once they’re gone, they’re out of sight, reach and therefore mind. The body doesn’t forget, though, does it?

Yes, I must learn the psychology of thin.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

