Skip to content

The Game of Life

June 17, 2011

I recently became a worker-bee again, in addition to my mother-bee duties. This means I get to escape for half a day and pretend that my brain isn’t made of mush. It’s nice.

On the arduous journey from daycare to my downtown workplace, I amuse myself with a little puzzle-game on my mobile phone, called ‘Jewels’. In the game, you have a grid with different shaped and coloured jewels and you need to swap them around to create a chain of a minimum of 3 of the same, at which point the chain of jewels disappears. Today being Friday and me being severly sleep-deprived (due to a one-and-a-half-hour screaming interlude at 3.30 a.m.), I was feeling all contemplative and it occurred to me how similar this little time-killing puzzle is to actual real life.

Jewels game

Jewels: The Game of Life

 

Bear with me here….

When you first start playing the game, you make the easy moves. They get you points in the short term but you don’t create possibilities for further moves, thus ending the game very quickly. That’s childhood/youth: You take things at face value, too ‘new’ to the world to really be able or willing to look at the consequences in advance.

After a while, you realise that there’s a strategy to the game. You start to look beyond the easy moves and think ahead of the impact your actions will have. “If I move that one there, will it create another opportunity or will it kill my opportunities?”, you ask yourself. That’s adulthood: Realising that everything you do has an impact on other things and that the easy way isn’t always the best way.

Maybe my brain isn’t made of mush afterall…?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

