Skip to content

Zombie Land

January 30, 2011

I’ve forgotten what it’s like to get a full night’s sleep. There was a time, less than a year ago in fact, that I would flop into bed and sleep sometimes more than 12 hours in a row. I looked forward to the end of the day when I could curl up into the fetal positon and sleep for as long as I wanted. Nobody to keep me awake. Nobody to make me get up. Then I had a baby.

“I’m sooooo tired” is the cry of almost all of the mums I know and the dads, well, let’s not talk about them, snoring away whilst we drag our little bundles of joy, kicking and screaming back to the land of nod.

If there was a magic pill/powder/medicine, I would take it without reading the Packungsbeilage or worrying about the side-effects. That’s how desperate a situation we’re in. Yes, we’re in Zombie Land, my friend.

Morning after morning, I wake in a haze, a Small Human wriggling next to me, often omitting squeaking noises, occasionally thwacking me on the chin with his little hand. I accept my fate, open my eyes and see two big dark eyes and a gummy grin staring back at me. And you know what, I forget the haze, the longed-for 12 hour stretch and I actually manage to smile. Gosh, I AM a softie!

Baby on rocking horse

Bow to me, for I am the Master of the Cute!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

