Skip to content

Growing up

November 15, 2010

Almost 2 weeks ago, I turned 30. For quite a long time, I’d actually been looking forward to the big 30 on account of the fact that most of the people in my circle of friends had already hit / surpassed that ‘ripe old age’ (including blokey) and I was starting to feel a little out of place (a bit like the annoying youngster, cutting through moments of thoughtful solemnity with inane chatter)

Whilst becoming 30 doesn’t automatically make me into some intellectual, able to wow people with my vast knowledge of the world, I feel a little more towards the general direction of a ‘real’ grownup: I am a mother for starters and actually (maybe surprisingly), that was top of the list of ‘things to do before I turn 30’;  I have a relatively good job with enough money to live comfortably and save a few pennies for a rainy day; I’m in a committed relationship (that proposal still hasn’t happened but who needs a bit of paper to seal the deal anyway?). I guess the only thing left on the list of what defines a grownup according to my cultural background is owning property, which, let’s face it is extremely overrated and some might say hideously stupid in the current economic climate but I digress…

Strange, how a birthday can cause a life stock take and in turn, a rubbish blog post. *Sigh*

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

