Skip to content

A Bun in the Oven

May 5, 2010

I have gestational diabetes. The one time when I should be able to eat what I like (a.k.a unlimited cake, chocolate and ice cream), I find myself on a highly restrictive diet.

Even harder than the ‘limited sweet stuff’ bit of the diet is the ‘wholemeal bread only’ bit with emphasis on BREAD because bread rolls are also out of the question. Now, anyone who’s visited or lived in Germany will know that Germany has the most bread varieties probably in the whole world. There are bakeries on every corner. The smell of freshly baked bread is almost constantly in the air.

I think the irony of my situation is pretty clear.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

