Skip to content

Impending Parenthood

March 16, 2010

ARGH! I’m officially going to be having a baby in around 10 weeks! PANIC!

I feel like this is a perfectly natural state to be in right now. My protruding belly and the movement of the baby inside it tell me that I’m pregnant but my brain continues to be in denial.

Pregnancy’s the most fantastic thing- it gives you time to prepare yourself mentally, along with the (let’s face it amazing) physical changes, for the final outcome- a small Human. But even though I’ve wanted this for as long as I can remember, I’m still terrified.

There’s so much to think about and I’m not even up to the birth bit yet (that’s too scary to contemplate just now) let alone what kind of a parent I’m going to be or to what pre-school I’m going to send my kid.

I think this is what parenthood’s about- flying by the seat of your pants, not knowing everything but feeling confident in your lack of knowledge and making an effort to know what you need to know to be able to do the right thing by your kids.

Well, if chavs can do it, I can! Wish me luck!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. bwakeling permalink
    March 16, 2010 22:04

    Congratulations! My wife is due in about seven weeks, we can’t wait!

    You might enjoy my blog if you want to know how your partner is feeling during pregnancy!

    All the best,

    Ben

  2. March 17, 2010 21:37

    You are going to be an awesome Mum. I don’t blame you for trying not think about birth. It terrifies me and I’m not even preggo! Hopefully see you soon to meet little baby Lornal xx

  3. Jenny C permalink
    May 1, 2010 09:16

    Go Lorna. You’ll be fabulous!!!xxx

Leave a Reply

