Skip to content

Fighting the Fat

April 13, 2009

A friend of mine recently posted on Livejournal that she’s started to go jogging, using the Couch to 5k plan. This, in addition to the fact that my best friend and one of the most exercise-phobic people I’ve ever known goes jogging before work, forced inspired me to put on my running shoes for a 20-minute ‘jog’ around our local park.

Today, despite not being able to walk without my thigh-muscles telling me they’re there, principally by hurting like buggery, I managed to meet up with some friends for lunch, which ended up being outside by the river due to a power cut in the restaurant in which we’d arranged to eat. The riverside was covered in a thin layer of semi-clothed people, soaking up the last of the sun before the holidays end and they’re forced to return to their boring desk jobs tomorrow. And in that sea of bodies, I started to feel the first niggles of summer body shame…

It was only on the U-Bahn on the way home that I realised that most skinny people are just as miserable (if not more miserable) than fat people.

Fat people say “If I was thin, I would be happy” (I am one of them) but when they actually reach that goal, are they really happy? Then there’s the skinny people who deprive themselves because putting on that extra pound means that nobody will love them so they get wrinkles, worrying about getting ‘fat’. And the flat-chested people who think they’d be happy if they had bigger airbags– believe me, supporting those babies is hard work!

I think the point I’m trying to make is, the people who are happiest are those who are at peace with themselves, regardless of their shape/size or whatever they consider to be a flaw. You are your own worst critic and until you call a truce with yourself, you’re going to be fighting for the rest of your life, only to regret it when you’re immobilised by old age and ill health.

Remember the words of Baz Luhrmann’s ‘Suncreen’….

Enjoy your body,
use it every way you can…don’t be afraid of it, or what other people
think of it, it’s the greatest instrument you’ll ever
own..

Now where did I put the Easter eggs…?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2009 21:07

    I couldn’t agree with you more. The problem is, though, how do you convince yourself to be happy with what you’ve got? Aaahhhh, all the world really is a stage…

Trackbacks

  1. Cup of tea anyone?
  2. Acceptance « Cup of tea anyone?

Leave a Reply

