Skip to content

Warmth

February 15, 2009

It’s snowing outside. Looking at it from inside, it’s beautiful. Experiencing it outside, it’s cold, wet and miserable.

We have no coal for the oven heating in our Altbau apartment. All I have is a blanket and my laptop to keep me warm.

On my way home, I popped into the Spätkauf to pick up a Zitty (Berlin city guide) but they had run out. Maybe the homeless guy standing outside had used them all as insulation because he appeared to have gained a good few kilos since the last time I saw him. I expect he was here before I even arrived in Germany. Sometimes I’m certain I pick up English words in his random mutterings, which somehow makes me want to speak to him. I don’t think I would want to speak to him, were it not for this simple fact- we’re bound by our foreignness.

It’s not every day that one strikes up a conversation with a homeless guy- what would I say to him? “Oh hi, I see you around a  lot- how are you today?”  Uhhh…

Despite the freezing conditions in our apartment and my own sometimes quite apparent foreignness, I appreciate having a roof over my head, a blanket and a laptop.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2009 21:15

    Love the piece! Glad you have a blog. Hate tea! 🙂

    • Lorna permalink
      February 16, 2009 15:28

      Well, I cannot believe you hate tea! I was inspired to revive my public blogging by you, actually! 🙂

  2. Bella permalink
    February 26, 2009 06:48

    This is lovely Lorna!!!

Leave a Reply

