Skip to content

Going Places

June 24, 2013

If you’re out of motivation, feeling down and lacking in self-confidence or if you just want to feel a little bit uplifted, open Dr Seuss’ “Oh, the places you’ll go!” and you will find yourself feeling that you can take on anything. At least, that’s how I feel, each time I read it to my three-year-old. 

Whatever the situation, the book just seems to fit: Life, work, academia, relationships…  It’s a story of decisiveness, of tenacity, failure, success, loneliness, patience, groping around in the dark, facing up to your problems and most of all- going places. 

As a project manager, I particularly love the lines: 

“You’ll get mixed up, of course, as you already know. You’ll get mixed up with many strange birds as you go. So be sure when you step. Step with care and great tact and remember that Life’s a Great Balancing Act.”

Beautiful words, and so true.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kim Douglass permalink
    June 24, 2013 20:22

    My brother just graduated from Med school, and I gave him this book. It’s AWESOME! :)
    It’s also not some overly optimistic BS either. That’s what I love about it. It tells you there will be hard and dark times. You’re right…it fits almost every situation.

  2. July 30, 2013 04:21

    Dr Seuss rocks. I was dead against it until my son discovered it in his school library. He adored it and I found myself also being encapsulated by the quirky rhymes. It’s American through and through but fabulous too.

    • Mama-L permalink*
      July 30, 2013 08:15

      Why were you against it? I find the writing brilliant, especially the invented words and characters!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 467 other followers

